CMI News
Award Body
British Safety Council


Health and Safety Diploma Text
Health & Safety Students

Occupational Health & Safety Diploma

Course Overview

Gaining a Health & Safety Diploma qualification from the leading authority in health & safety courses is one of the best decisions you can make.The Occupational Health and Safety Diploma course is designed for aspiring health and safety professionals and will provide you with the necessary knowledge to have a long and successful career. 

This course is awarded by the British Safety Council  which is an internationally recognised 
awarding body regulated and quality approved by Ofqual UK.  The qualification is recognised to level 6 by Ofqual under the UK National Qualifications Framework (NQF) and this is broadly equivalent to a Level 8 (Honours Bachelor Degree, Higher Diploma) in Ireland.

A Unique approach, that gets you the result

CMI's unique incremental approach to learning, allows you to apply what you learn each week over a 10 month time frame. The is delivered over 3 ten week terms.  The programme deliberately avoids the 'boot camp' approach which often results in higher failure and lower retention rates. CMI provide an incremental approach to learning, so that you are well prepared to successfully pass the rigorous assignments and examinations throughout the course. 

Course Aims


This course in Health & Safety is designed to provide you with the expertise required to undertake a promising career as a health and safety manager or officer. It also provides a sound basis for progression to an MSc or more specialist study. You will learn how to do incident reporting and investigation, implement and monitor various health and safety policies and procedures, conduct audits, and most importantly put forward solutions to common day workplace health and safety issues.


The diploma  course in Health and Safety is divided into 3 units:

Unit 1: Principles of Health and Safety Management

Unit 2: Safeguarding People's Health in the Workplace

Unit 3: Promoting a Positive Health and Safety Culture in the Workplace

Examination and Assignment Details 

There are 2 exams and a work based assignment. Exams are held three times a year during CMI's examination periods in January, May and October.

  • Unit 1: 3 Hour Exam
  • Unit 2: 2.5 Hour Exam & Assignment
  • Unit 3: Assignment

British Safety Council membership and assessment registration fees are included in the overall course fee.The course covers UK legislation for exam purposes, There is references to Irish and EU Law on the programme . .

What do you get?

Access to online learning system
Weekly online course notes
Past exam papers
Tutor & Exam Support
For Classroom course, classes one night per week
E- Version of Core Textbook 

Entry Criteria

Newcomers to Health & Safety are advised to consider doing the BSC General Certificate in Occupational Health & Safety  with CMI first, however you may apply for the Diploma and admissions will check your eligibility (based on past work experience and qualifications achieved).  

Award:  Diploma in Occupational Health and Safety

Award Body:  BSC - British Safety Council 

Level: 6 Ofqual UK broadly equivalent to level 8 Ireland



Qualification Recognition


The course is accredited by the Institution of Occupational Safety and Health (IOSH) as meeting the requirement for graduate membership (Grad IOSH). Graduate members of IOSH may apply for chartered status (CMIOSH) after a period of initial professional development. Holders of the Level 6 Diploma may also apply for full membership of the International Institute of Risk and Safety Management (IIRSM).  

Holders of the BSC Diploma in Occupational Health and Safety may use the designatory letters “DipOCCHS” after their name.



health safety management courses

  • Modules

  • Fees

  • Timetables

  • Tutors

  • Testimonials

  • FAQ's